Happy New Year!

Winter Carnival  . Commission for the Westin Hotel in Peachtree Plaza, Atlanta, Georgia.

Winter Carnival . Commission for the Westin Hotel in Peachtree Plaza, Atlanta, Georgia

Ehhh! I’m the worst art blogger in the universe!

Anyway – Happy New Year Bitches! Yes – I know it is February.  I wanted to thank to all my clients and loyal fans, friends, and family – this past year was the best year of my career! EVER!! And I even had that  horrible elbow pain this past spring (and really slowed my  painting activity) for what seemed like 5 months of it!  That being said, I swear I am the luckiest person in the world! I’m so excited to be a able to do what I do, and actually get paid for it.  As a self-employed person and an artist, there are many ebbs and flows in business….so at the moment I’m majorly going with the flow – and will ride this wave as long as I can! (my pretend Florida surfer reference)

I wish I could be my usual snarky self and say that my new years resolution is “to not have any resolutions”….however (on a down note) in late November, my Mother was diagnosed with stage 4 lung cancer that has spread to her spine and liver.  I also have a good artist friend that was diagnosed with stage 4 tongue cancer, and  had her tongue removed the other day.  So I immediately started to change my diet (mostly Paleo or low acid – low carb, no dairy) – to reduce inflammation, and even started running.  Most people that know me well know that I do not run unless someone is chasing me.  So this is kind of a big deal!  I began making the food modifications in October/early November, have not lost that much weight, but my joint pain has reduced tremendously, and my skin and hair look amazing!  This is the longest amount of time (that I can remember) that I have gone with out a piece of Pizza!  TORTURE!  We will see how long it lasts. You don’t have to believe everything you read, but go ahead and watch Forks over Knives or  Fat Sick & Nearly Dead if you get a chance – form your own opinion about how food is killing us.

And I also want to live out loud – MORE.  For those of you that think I’m already a complete obnoxious bitch, need to go ahead step back and get ready for some Towanda!  I always tell people that if I ever get cancer I’m just going to ram my car in to people/drivers that piss me off.  Of course, I’m not really going to do that because I love my car too much, but why wait to live out loud? Why wait to use your silver 1-2 times a year, or wait for a special occasion wear your fanciest jewelry? I wear my best perfume everyday and tell my friends and family I love them!  It is never too late to right a wrong, or apologize, or even ditch those toxic people from your life. Be fancy EVERYDAY!!

I’m a pretty shitty daughter, so I’m going to try and visit my Mother in San Antonio every month for a week or more, and in order to do so I really need to buckle down and adhere to a strict work schedule.  I basically have no social life!

I have also started sleeping more.  I use to get about 6 hours of sleep.  But now I’m trying to get 8-9 hours.   I don’t drink very much coffee (if any) so I do not get jacked up every day.  I feel so much better, and don’t look and feel like the walking dead all the time.  Also, I have discovered B-12 shots!  Amazing! (which reminds me I need to go get another one)

The above photo is a commission I just finished for a hotel renovation in Atlanta.  I was trying to complete it in record time – so there were quite a few cold & rainy days where I just stayed in my PJ’s all day and painted non-stop in my living room while watching movies.  I really wanted to impress this client and made an effort to step up my game.  I think they turned out great! One of my other resolutions is not only to avoid procrastinating, and over committing – but to get ahead and come out early EARLY – like tremendously early with my deadlines! We will see how that goes as well.

6 Comments

Filed under Artist Ramblings

6 responses to “Happy New Year!

  1. Alexis Walter Art

    Happy New Year, Casey. So sorry to hear about you mom and friend!! Cancer is so scary. I had a rare ovarian cancer and totally changed our lifestyle too. I guess that’s the good that comes from the bad… I’ll be keeping y’all in our thoughts and prayers. LOVE your work!! Can’t wait to see your newest pieces.

    • Casey Matthews

      Thanks for your kind words Alexis. My Mom also had some rare form of ovarian cancer about 10 years ago – so I was living in fear for many years until I had that BRCA test to see if I was a carrier. That is some scary stuff. Glad you are OK and they caught it in time. But yes, a scare like that really puts your priorities in order.

  2. Sidney

    Aww, what wonderful progress and blessing to your health and career. Congratulations, you followed your own inner wisdom on all of that. Who gives you the B-12 shots? I aspire to be able to be a self-supporting artist as you are. Thank you for being a beacon and showing me that it is possible.

    • Casey Matthews

      Thanks Sidney! I currently get the B-12 shots from my doctor (general practitioner) but I’m going to try and start doing it myself. They will give you a prescription if you want one.

  3. The commissions are spectacular! The client loves them, and we were so pleased to work with you. Wishing you all the best during this difficult time.
    Kristen & Kimberely
    Art Initiative
    Atlanta, GA

Leave a Reply

