ReGroup:: to form into a new grouping: to reorganize (as after a setback) for renewed activity

Image

“Sherlock,” Hazard Pay,” “Legacy Cost,” & “Rivet”        (Four – 24×30’s)         SOLD

I love lazy Sundays.  My true day off.  I slept until almost 9AM this morning, and I even took a small nap after lunch! That is saying a lot, because this past week or two I had been averaging 4 hours of sleep/night – and my body (and mind) were really feeling it.  I over committed to finishing up a large commission – a 96×60 diptych – just so I could avoid freight shipping it. At the same time I was painting for a show.  

But as of Saturday it is over.  At least for a little while.  I still have three commissions now, but nothing crazy. And even though I owe two galleries and a publishing company a major amount art right now (before they give me the boot) – I feel like I can sort of relax for at least one more day.  Maybe get a massage? I have HORRIBLE tennis elbow and need to slow down!

My studio is completely bare at the moment.  Which will be really great (sarcasm) when I have to work Tuesday and Wednesday and open to the public.   I was really beginning to feel burned out.  I was working soooo much – it seems like everything it taking soooo much longer than usual to finish up. It was mentally wearing me out.  I don’t remember the last time I did anything fun.  Actually I do – and I think it was in January. And this week, I had to force myself to make time and go to two dinners with girlfriends and change my scene – if only for a second.

I read this quote recently: 

In order to make art, we must first make an artful life, a life rich enough and diverse enough to give us fuel. – Julia Cameron 

That statement rings true, but was also very sad for me because I have not felt like I have been doing anything interesting, or fun, or inspiring lately.  Or if I have, I’m too tired to remember. I have not even been able to travel to NYC in months because I have been so busy 😦

So I’m going to try and make a better effort to take care of myself, and my house and focus on cultivating a creative and rich life. I need to regroup and even change my mission statement.  On Saturday I went on an open studio tour in Jacksonville, and today I went to the beach for a short walk.  I know – big whoop – but it was good to get out and clear my head.  I need a vacation soooo badly right now.

But I should shut up and be thankful that I have work and people are buying art.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

