Sweet Nothing

I know (especially recently) you have heard me complain about how other artists treat each other (jealousy, cattiness, spitefulness, etc).  Certainly not all artists are like that – they are just easy to complain about.  I try not to be a negative person – honestly.  I just find it completely baffling, and absurd to that there are people out there (not just artists) that when good things happen to you and success is thrown your way – they just cannot be happy for you.  But I guess a blog is a place to vent – so I can certainly see how it can come off in a negative way.

Anyway, I wanted to offer some balance by sharing a heartfelt letter another artist recently left in my studio.  I won’t say who it is because I don’t want to embarrass them or anything.  And I promise it is a real letter – I did not make it up. (I haven’t completely alienated everyone – there are a few people out there that think I am the bomb!) I just thought it was nice that after all these years of sharing advice, juried show information, opportunities,  technique info, business info, words of wisdom, etc – someone actually made it worth my while and thanked me instead of turning on me like a wild (competitive) animal.  It is nice to know there are decent  human beings still left – and this glimmer of hope has caused me to keep the  jadedness (is that a word)  in the closet just a little while longer.

Here is a little background info:  I recently got a small apartment in Chelsea (Manhattan) with my boyfriend that has been working in the city 4 days a week.  I plan to split my time between there and Florida and make the most of it in this next year.  So after this year I can say I at least gave it a shot at an artists making an attempt in New York City.  Also, I have been painting very large things lately and actually selling a bunch of art.  So to say my life is fairly exciting and busy right now would be an understatement. So I guess this person is happy for me…..

Dear Casey,

I am sooooo happy for you!  You are such an inspiration to me.  I always enjoyed our chats when I would visit your studio.  I love your focus, discipline, passion – your steadfastness with your painting – no matter what is going on around you.  You have just kept it going with your gift.  I love it.  God Bless You!

So in the light of 9-11, why don’t you give someone a compliment today (and try to actually mean it), tell someone that you love them, that you miss them, that you appreciate them……  Never underestimate the power of a kind gesture.

Peace!

Leave a comment

Filed under Artist Ramblings, Exciting News!!!

Leave a Reply

