Freedom is just another word for nothing left to lose……

48 x60 Work in Progress

All true artists, whether they know it or not, create from a place of no-mind; from inner stillness. – Eckhart Tolle

I am deeply grateful to live my life as an artist.
Art play, and discovery are my constant creative companions, and I adore the process of slinging paint. There are many challenges and tiny victories involved in each art making experience.  Without a doubt, living a creative life is the most enjoyable, rewarding, and satisfying experience I know.

I have been working on several large 48×60 paintings concurrently.  I was having a lovely Saturday painting day today with minimal interruption (which is a rarity these days.)  Really getting in to the groove.  When I paint I normally listen to music (either Pandora or Sirius radio),  occasionally listen to Martha Stewart Radio, or on the rare occasion watch something on Hulu.  But even if I have something playing in the background, my mind is still able to wander.  I am one of those people that actually thrives among chaos, and I have always been a day dreamer.

So today my mind was wandering: I wasn’t really thinking about anything specific – I was thinking about nothing:  The art of clearing you mind. I am very thankful for my freedom.  I rarely over-think things and trust the Universe to guide me in the right direction.  I love to discover new things and enjoy the adventure(s) involved in each art making experience.  I have found that the last few years of painting intuitive, non-objective, the most challenging and rewarding experience thus far. Unlike someone who approaches a canvas with specific subject matter in mind,  I never know what the outcome will be.  That excites me.

In real life I am the same way.  I just do things.  I have never had a hard time making decisions.  I just make them. I trust my instincts, and I rarely regret anything. I know what I like and I go after it.  I never return things or change my mind.  And when I do things I just do it. I am always looking forward. I hate it when people read into my actions too much.  Believe me, I am not a very deep person, and rarely do anything with ulterior motive.  I just do things.  I am in idiot.  I don’t have the brain capacity to be manipulative, calculated, or plot three moves ahead of you.  Or at least that is what I tell people 🙂

But I am slowly finding out I am in the minority with my freedom.  Not many artists are like this.  In fact most of them are very well organized and rarely approach anything with out a good, solid plan.  And several non- artists I know, over-think things to the extent that it cripples them from doing anything productive. I have a friend who has been painting her house for 2-3 years and I swear it takes her 6 months to a year just to decide on a color for each room.  But what is the worst that can happen?  It is just paint – it is not like having a baby or anything.  Just paint over it for God’s sake!  There are  other people who are constantly over-analyzing everyone’s actions, instead of just taking things at face value – almost as if they distrust everyone, or themselves.  How can you navigate through the universe like that?  Perhaps I am naive?  Who knows. I am not saying how I do things is right, but so far it is working for me.

As Nike states:  Just Do It!

Leave a comment

Filed under Artist Ramblings

Leave a Reply

