Keep Moving with the Flow

Whenever I package up or mail off a bunch of art it is such an invigorating and cleansing process.  I like freeing up the space and energy so that I can create new things, and  get excited about new ideas swirling around my head and possibilities that are out there ready for the taking.  I read this incredible book my friend Tara Meyer-Robson wrote, called the FLOW and one of the basic concepts was to let go of all the negative energy,  bad situations, toxic relationships, and energy vampires – so that new, positive energy, opportunities, and healthy relationships can fill that space instead. This is not a new concept – but it is one that works.

I like to see my work go out the door.  It is like packing up a beloved child and sending it off to live with someone else.  It is an intimate gift to share with someone.  I especially love to sell work to people who are just beginning their art collection, and learning to appreciate original art.  I adore hearing someone who makes such a fuss about how my work has made them happy.  I was never like that before (someone who really valued a compliment) – I guess I lived in a household for many years where no compliments ever given, that I got use to it, and convinced myself that I  could survive without them, and in turn I did not hand them out all that often,   But with the recent economy, I have art piling up and the art sales are  few and far between  –  it is nice to hear nice words  now and again to validate my situation in life:  To remind me why I am here, reinforce what I am doing, and that I am still moving in the right direction – despite the fact that I am struggling financially.  I recently had someone email me who saw my show at MOCA last week and wanted to “thank me for the beautiful art I create,” She wanted let me know how my work has touched them and made them smile.  That was nice.  She did not have to do that – but it was much appreciated.  Compliments like those seem to come at times when I need them the most.

I spoke with an artist acquaintance a few weeks ago.  She said she had not painted in almost two years.   She said the canvases were just stacking up and not selling,  and she was not motivated to even go near the studio.  Unfortunately this is not the first time I have heard this type of situation from someone.  It is not uncommon to let “life” and problems interfere with creating.  I have even felt this way myself – unfortunately I don’t have the luxury of being retired or have any other source of income – so those type of ruts have to be  short lived.

When you have work hang around too long it can be crippling:  Some hold on to work for psychological reasons, others can’t get rid of it because of the recession, and people are just not buying art like they use to.  Either way, this inventory buildup is like clutter of the soul.  Unless it is moved around or cleared – it is hard to get motivated to freely create more.  It can be a bit depressing.  I have not been working near as hard as I need to be (even though I always seem to be busy). But I am able to work and do enjoy the time I have doing so.

So, I have had this moment of clairity and cleansing because my gallery is very naked at the moment – I am extremely motivated to get in the studio right now and execute these new ideas I have swirling around in my head.  My studio/gallery is closed for several days to the public – so I hope to get a bunch of productive uninterrupted work done.  Yea!

Leave a comment

Filed under Artist Ramblings

Leave a Reply

