Work in Progress

Here is my attempt at showing a work  in progress.  I hear people like to see this stuff.  I like to work on several paintings at a time especially if they are intended to hang together.  I have some many different layers in my process, and it is nice to keep working while paint is drying.  For some reason photos are not that great (a mystery glare) and the color is a little off; I am working with a photo editing program at my studio I am not familiar with – but enough with the excuses….

wp1

Humble Beginnings

wp2

These paintings are all 24×24 on a super thick (3″) gallery wrapped canvas

Phase 1

Phase 1

Phase 1

Phase 1

Sometimes I like to use fabric (see below).  The dry cleaners ruined my favorite green & white summer dress, so I decided to cut it up and use it in my work!

Phase 1 -  I am not really liking this one as much as the others, and seem to be struggling.

Phase 1 - I am not really liking this one as much as the others, and seem to be struggling.

Phase 2

Phase 2

Phase 2 - I am loving these blue tones and washes

Phase 2 - I am loving these blue tones and washes

I decided to rotate the canvas midway though my working (see the following two).  Sometimes you don’t notice you have the same flow going on everything – it is much more interesting to mix it up.

Phase 3

Phase 3

Phase 3

Phase 3

Not sure about this one (below).  It is getting there, but I still need to dig around my collage scraps and books for something interesting to make it POP! It does not seem strong enough on it’s own.

Phase 3 - It is getting there, but still not my fave

Phase 3 - It is getting there, but still not my fave

Stay tuned to see how it all ends……..

2 Comments

Filed under Studio Related, Works in Progress

2 responses to “Work in Progress

  1. It always amazes me how a piece starts out and what it becomes. Love seeing your progress here.

Leave a Reply

