Emotional Work

A few weeks ago I went to a concert and saw the acclaimed Eroica Trio. I love Opera music even though I have never had the opportunity to actually see one  (one day I will actually go to Italy and experience an Opera.) There was a young violinist, Susie park, that performed a piece from Carmen.  She has been hailed as “prodigiously talented”and praised for her “freedom, mastery and fantasy.”  And let me tell you she is AMAZING.  I only know a brief synopsis of Carmen (and yes it is a sad Opera) but for some reason I was completely overtaken with emotion.  It was sort of embarrassing – I was in the front row.  The arrangement was so absolutely beautiful and I have never been affected by a piece of music like that – EVER.

I would not have even brought it up, except for the fact that I got an email from someone the other day, telling me how “moving and emotional my work was” for them.

Wow. It is interesting to learn the impact of how we (unintentionally) affect each others lives.

When I went to Italy and saw the Sistine Chapel for the first time I cried.  When I gazed upon Michelangelo’s “David” I cried.  When I was in  the presence of Botticelli’s “Birth of Venus” I wept.  When I went to the MOMA and viewed Monet’s “Waterlilies” for the first time I cried.  I think it was because they are so well known, and I have only studied these works in books, that when I was actually in front of them it was  such a humbling experience, yet a profound moment of realization, closure, and climax all at the same time. I am a dinkis when it comes to overwhelming joy and beauty in the world.

I never really think of my work that way, but I will surely take the compliment.

Leave a comment

Filed under Artist Ramblings

Leave a Reply

