Friday can’t come soon enough!

Just Another Ordinary Day (2009)

Just Another Ordinary Day (2009)

The Folio Weekly came out today, and for those of you that don’t know what the Folio is – it is the weekly alternative newspaper sort of like the Black & White, Creative Loafing, Village Voice, Chicago Reader, The Metro Reader, LA Weekly, San Antonio Current, etc.  Today is the Visual Arts Issue, and since the Folio, in conjunction with the Cummer Museum is hosting their invitational:  “Premiere art show” – I got a nice little blurb, image, and website mention (jump to page 9.) I guess I better make sure my website is up to date and I am not talking smack about other artists on my blog (hee hee).

We couldn’t think of a better way to celebrate our 22nd anniversary than throwing a party to celebrate local art. Since 1987, Folio Weekly has been committed to profiling and amplifying artistic voices in Northeast Florida, and our inaugural Invitational Artist Exhibition is in many ways a culmination of the relationships we’ve built over
the years. We thank the more than 300 artists who submitted work for consideration, and especially the 18 who were ultimately chosen to participate. We also thank The Cummer Museum of Art & Gardens for their counsel and collaboration on this event.  And we thank you for supporting local art and artists, and hope that this event will become an annual benchmark in Northeast Florida’s flourishing visual arts scene.

Cool huh?  Can you tell I am just a wee bit excited about this?? And trust me, it takes a lot for me to get excited.  I have had my work displayed in the Columbus Museum a few times for their annual fundraiser sale “Flying Colors” or “Flying High” – but I got dropped from that roster as soon as I moved (they suck).  Anyway it still looks decent on the resume. Well, This is way more exciting!

cover_024

Anyway, the show at the Cummer Museum opens tomorrow and the reception is Friday 5:30-9PM.  For more information look HERE.  I am not sure, (and this sounds weird) but I think I am exhibiting a bunch of  pieces.  I dropped of a ton of work and never got a call to pick up any unused paintings. There are only 33 pieces total and some of the other artists only have 1-3 pieces in the show. I just can’t get over the fact that I woul have so many.  So it might be a mistake – maybe they did not hang all the work I dropped off.  We’ll see.  I can’t wait to see.

Leave a comment

Filed under Art Events, Artist Ramblings, Exciting News!!!, Press

Leave a Reply

