Riverside Art Festival – Jacksonville, FL

I am supposed to do an art show/festival in Jacksonville, Florida this weekend.  Over the years I have learned that it is difficult to schedule many shows in Florida in the fall because of the hurricane/tropical storm/Nor’easter risk.  So I usually only do this small local show, just because I can decide at the very last minute to stay home or go.

My question is, I wonder who decided that art and the elements (rain, cold, wind) would be a good idea?  No matter what time a year, it almost always rains on me – at least one day of a show.  And I hardly do any fine art outdoor shows anymore. I am sick of it.The one time I loaned my canopy to someone, it was not returned the same way I loaned it out – and I did not realize it until I used it next and it was too late to remedy the situation.  Needless to say, some of my art and I got rained on!  I learned my lesson about loaning out your art tent the hard way.

To be honest with you, I would actually be glad if this show got rained out.  My heart is not in it.  I have three very important things I am getting ready for and would rather concentrate on.  Jacksonville is an odd little market.  The people that live there are very conservative in their tastes and how they spend their money – so in a recession, the market is probably at its worst.  But somehow I manage to do well there every year.  Not just OK – but fairly well.  So that is what keeps me applying every year.  It has taken me a long time to get my name out in Jacksonville – which is a grueling process in itself. My target market(s) are gay men, and younger people (25-40) with a disposable income: people just starting their collection, young parents.  And Jacksonville (and Fernandina for that matter) don’t have very many people that fall into those categories- which is why I normally sell more work in larger urban/metropolitan areas. So we’ll see.  I am torn.

Anyway, I sold two paintings this past week and have 1-3 more pending purchases, so I guess I think I can  wriggle out of this show without financially killing myself.  I’ll keep you posted.

2 Comments

Filed under Art Fair Related, Artist Ramblings

2 responses to “Riverside Art Festival – Jacksonville, FL

  1. Gina

    Hi – I’m an aspiring artist. Was trying to find out how to get my art displayed. How can I apply for this show? Any ideas will help. Thank you!

    • Casey Matthews

      You need to contact RAP and ask them for an application. I think the deadline is usually in June. You will need three slides of your work and one of your display (how your work will look in the tent/canopy). Hope this helps. Good luck.

Leave a Reply

