Kentuck

I think I forgot to mention that I got into Kentuck this year.  If you read a past post regarding the esteemed art festival, you will know how hard it is to get in, and how many times I had been rejected.  This is a really big deal for me, but for some reason I can’t seem to get excited.  Weird.  Maybe it just has not hit me yet.

Kentuck is held in my old stomping grounds, Tuscaloosa, Alabama, October 18 & 19.  In fact, I use to work here. I think it was the only job I was never fired from or “let go” from.  Being a college town, there is a home football game this year, and hotels will be booked so I am hoping I can stay with my college friend Kimberly.

I did not enter that many fine art shows/festivals this fall – (I think 4, and was rejected from 2).  Aside from Kentuck, I am doing one small local show, Riverside Art Fest.  In fact, I won’t enter anything but the absolute “best” for spring.  I aim high and let the chips fall where they may.  Aside from Riverside, I don’t like to enter anything that boasts less than 100,000 visitors.  With the economy being down, the weather always being crappy, and travel expenses on top of that – it can break you if you don’t do the right show. It can really be hit or miss.

I have been exploring other avenues for income these days.  I don’t want to tell all my secrets just yet.  But I’ll let you know how it goes when the time comes.

Leave a comment

Filed under Art Fair Related, Artist Ramblings, Exciting News!!!

Leave a Reply

