I am Thinking of a Painting Between 1 & 10

I slept late this morning. 9AM is fairly late for me. I needed the rest, but that is beside the point.  I was dreaming that I was giving my art rep some new really large work to place in a Mac Daddy corporate environment  – I was forcing myself to sleep longer so I could remember what they all looked like so I could go in the studio and conjure up something similar.  That is not technically plagiarism, is it?

I have been so uninspired lately.  I have either been piddling in my studio, or (unsuccessfully) painting on the same two paintings for days, weeks.  I recently discovered hulu, so I can now watch episodes of “The Family Guy” and “King of the Hill” (and whatever else I want) all week.  It has been raining so much – and for some reason that is a good excuse to slack off and watch TV when customers are not coming in.  Don’t get me wrong – I am still working, just not exactly with an artistic approach –  with a clear mind, for instance if Lenny Kravitz, Stevie Ray Vaughan, or even Vivaldi wereplaying in the background.  Everyone expects artists to be so prolific and sophisticated – when in reality, most of my work  in 2005-2007 was done while watching Lay Leno, Conan O’Brian, and Carson Daily – because NBC was the only thing I could pick up with rabbit ears in my studio late at night.

Oh, and the Olympics are on.  I think I am the only person in the world who despises the Olympics.  What else can I complain about and find distracting?

I finally finished cleaning though.  My studio is very organized at the moment – so I really have no excuse.  I have 3 really large pieces started – I just need to bite the bullet and dive in.

In college, you could always tell when I had a huge test because I would start cleaning my apartment.  It was the second most grueling thing to do instead of studying, or whatever I was REALLY supposed to be doing.  So inevitably, cleaning the apartment always came up in the rotation of “urgent things to do.” Avoidance.  Works like a charm!  Ha.

Anyway, I better get to work instead of just talking/writing about it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Artist Ramblings, Studio Related

Leave a Reply

