Inspiration 6-30-08

My official painting work week starts on Tuesdays (I take Sunday and Monday for myself) – so I have been uninspired to find any sort of “creative inspiration” to post about today.  Hard to think about art when all I want to do is vegetate – instead I have to do trivial activities like laundry.  So I will tell you about the movie I saw last night – it was inspiring in a different sort of way……

I watched The Diving Bell & the Butterfly last night.  I had been wanting to see it for awhile but needed to carve out the time to sit still and watch sub-titles.  It was pretty good.  A bit slow at first, but good.  It is a french film and true story about  Jean-Dominique Bauby, the high-flying editor of Elle magazine, whose life changed in an instant, when his world was plunged into the depths of catastrophe. He suffers a stroke and and has “locked-in syndrome” which causes him to live with an almost totally paralyzed body; he only speaks through blinking his left eye. Phenomenal story. I am too lazy to type out the entire plot – so read more HERE.
It really made me feel like an underachiever – but also reminded me to to cherish what I have right in front of me, and if I work hard and have patience I can accomplish anything.  At least that is what I want to believe.

On a lighter note I was also “inspired” to make Brownies today!  Does that count?  We had a killer rain storm here today and I did not want to get out in the weather, and felt too guilty to take a nap (like I really wanted to do) – so I did what I am also good at – cook!

Leave a comment

Filed under Inspiration

Leave a Reply

